Newport, RI: My Favorite Haven

Over the past couple of months I’ve made quite a few trips down to Newport, RI. I just adore that town. It’s only about an hour and a half away from me, but every time I’m there, I feel like I’m on vacation. It has a little bit of everything – the shore, culture, history, great restaurants, sports, wonderful architecture, numerous memorials, cool shops…..you name it, I can probably point to it for you.

I especially love it there when the sun is shining, but to be honest, even in the snowy winter, it’s a wonderful place to see. One of my favorite places to hang out there is Fort Adams State Park. It’s a great place to take your picnic and read, walk, watch the boats on the water, or just do some people-watching. I always see folk trying to catch fish near the harbor!

Another of my favorite places is Castle Hill Lighthouse. You access it via the grounds of Castle Hill Inn, a beautiful hotel on its own 40 acre peninsula off Ocean Drive. After parking in the parking lot, you just walk a little way up the track to the shore to get to the lighthouse. I’m quite a lighthouse fan, I just love the things, so I’m always hanging out there, as well as at Newport’s other lighthouses. Castle Hill’s lighthouse is so picturesque, though, and it’s usually quite a peaceful place to be at, since it’s not exactly a hub of tourist activity. I think this is one of my favorite photos that I’ve ever taken in Newport – it was just an amazingly beautiful day.

Just “next door” to Newport, across the bay, is the lovely Jamestown. A few weeks ago I finally managed to make it to see the Jamestown Windmill while it was open – previously I’ve only ever seen it from behind the wall since it’s only open for a few months of the year.

The windmill was built in 1787 to grind corn, operated until 1896, and is actually still maintained in working condition. It’s currently owned by the Jamestown Historical Society & is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. Amazing to see it and to be able to go inside. And I was lucky enough to be able to capture it on yet another gorgeous day.

One of my promises to myself over the past couple of years is that I’ll live there one day! God knows if it’ll ever happen – I’ll certainly have to be a telecommute worker if I do live there, since there isn’t any kind of industry based there that corresponds to what I do for a living. I’ll just keep working on it though!

Do you have any favorite havens?

 

Leave a Reply

