A Newport Kind of Day

We had another beautiful day today here in Massachusetts, and I just couldn’t bring myself to not take advantage of it. It’ll be the depths of winter here soon enough, so once again I felt compelled to get out and take advantage of it. It was actually almost 60 degrees, and beautifully sunny.

So after the gym & a wee bit of work that I had to catch up on, it was off to Newport, RI for the afternoon. I just love wandering around the town – no purpose required. And it’s never more perfect than on a sunny day. And now that tourist season is out of the way, it’s even more of a pleasure to be there since there’s no competing for sidewalk space with the visitors!

One of the things I love is just how colorful the town is. They have some very quirky, and interesting buildings, and in the sunshine they just seem to shine. So inviting!

One of my favorite places to go in the town is Fort Adams State Park. I’m happy even to just grab coffee and a sandwich and hang out there by the bay, just sitting in my car listening to music. If you’ve never visited Fort Adams, I’d highly recommend it if you’re in Newport.

Newport is a stopover point for some of the cruise ships – here’s “Crystal Symphony” of Nassau Cruise Lines, anchored in Newport for the day. Quite the floating palace, isn’t she!? The cruise schedule detailed this as the final leg of their 10 day cruise – looks like they started out up north in Montreal, headed south along the east coast, en route to their final destination of New York City. I’ll have to add that little jaunt to my “to-do” list!

My Newport day-trips used to last longer, but our shorter daylight hours tend to put an end to my walks at around 4:30 pm now. I was lucky enough to catch some more lovely colors as the sun was going down though.

This was the scene at Fort Adams itself.

And this is how it looked along Ocean Drive as I left the park and headed homeward bound again.

Another lovely weekend anyway.

Now for another busy few days in work in the run-up to the Thanksgiving holiday!

4 responses to “A Newport Kind of Day

  1. I’ve spent a few great weekends in Newport, but never in the fall.
    Thanks for the pics – they look great.

    • Thanks! Glad you’ve had the pleasure of Newport too. It really is one of my favorite places to visit. I’m so glad it’s only about one hour and twenty minutes from me. Close enough even for an afternoon trip.

  2. Nice images here. I love those signage photos. And those sunset images are so pretty.

Leave a Reply

