Holy Rants!

On and off this past weekend, and today, it’s been a little frustrating. I live in an apartment complex and it seems I have new downstairs neighbors, as of about a month ago.

They are ridiculously noisy. “Teenage boy and his friends” noisy mostly, lots of woots and screams from inside the apartment, as well as a lot of noisy hanging out in the hallways, and yelling outside (like right now). In addition they have a small dog who sadly seems to have separation anxiety, and barks non-stop for an hour or more when they leave him. I’m a veterinarian, and I recognize the poor little guy can’t help this, but in an apartment complex, they’re going to have to find some way of dealing with it so they don’t end up being evicted!

And then there’s another set of neighbors – these ones are on my floor. They constantly leave four or more pairs of shoes outside their door – this irritates me, but wouldn’t impact me if it wasn’t for the fact that their door is adjacent to a communal door that I have to go through to get into the hallway where my apartment is. And they leave their shoes right where this door opens. On Friday I had a last straw moment when I tripped over the latest four pairs.

I’m very tolerant, and have lived here for 6 years, and have never complained about anything to our leasing office. But today I’d had enough, so I spoke to the office and they said they’d get onto both issues. Amazingly nobody has yet complained about the noisy folk below. I’m flabbergasted!

Anyway, tonight I came home and all the shoes have disappeared, but the Clampetts downstairs are still causing chaos even now. Not sure if that will ever be resolved.

What else? Oh well on a non-neighbor front, there was the small issue of the GPS map download. Last year I downloaded maps of NZ & Australia onto it & it was an effortless exercise. Took me all of about 10 minutes from paying to completion. Yesterday I bought an online download of a Canada map. Only to discover that there wasn’t enough space on my GPS for the new map.

After messing around for about 40 minutes last night, I gave up on it all, for fear of jettying my beloved Mac out of the window. This morning I resumed with the mission. I managed to find some online forum comments about freeing up some space by deleting all the extraneous languages. So I got rid of everything except English, but still didn’t have enough space. Then to add insult to injury, I couldn’t install the new Plugin initially. Then I just tried a different server and it was ok. But now I couldn’t log into the website. For some reason it kept telling me I was using the wrong username or password. After repeating the madness about 15 times, I decided it was time to call in the big guns.

So I called Garmin and was put in a queue for customer service that was apparently going to make me wait up to 35 minutes. Thankfully I was able to just switch my office phone to speaker while I went about my work as I waited!

Finally I spoke to a very helpful young lady who reset my username and password, and then told me I could just use a digital camera-style SD card to download the map onto, and then just keep the card permanently in the device. Bingo. And as luck would have it, I had a spare card at work, so I managed to eventually get the whole thing accomplished. Only took  about 3 hours of my time all in all!

But the good news is that I got to strike quite a few things off my “to do” list for today.

I’m currently celebrating with a large Dunkin’ Donuts coffee with gingerbread. Ah, life on the edge…….

 

 

7 responses to “Holy Rants!

  1. Oh, nosy neighbors can make coming home so obnoxious. I hope they quiet down soon. And I’m really glad your shoeless neighbors moved their shoes. I don’t know, but I think that’s kind of rude. A wreath on the door = okay. Shoes blocking the hallway = not okay.

    • They’ve been heinous these past few weeks. I’ve kept ignoring the noise, hoping they would settle down eventually, but it seems not. Same goes for the shoes. they’ve been there in the droves for many months now. I agree, it’s rude to leave them blocking a communal door. Tripping over them and nutting my head was the last straw, hehe!

  2. Glad you got the Garmin issue figured. And uggh on the neighbors! Where I live, houses are like 10 feet from each other, and we hear every dog bark all around us. I have dogs, and I know that you have to get it so your dog doesn’t bark (I train my dogs not to from when they are puppies). But other people don’t seem to know that dog barking is annoying.

    Hope your neighbors quiet down!

  3. Oh I hope they pipe down a bit soon too! You know, the pooch I can cope with – if that was the only problem, I’d feel a lot happier. The people are way more noisy! But yes, you’re right, you definitely have to deal with the dog problem if you have a noisy one. My old dog used to have separation anxiety, so I know how it goes. He could literally never be alone at home, he’d be distraught, barking, piddling, pooping everywhere. But I used to make arrangements for him whenever I had to leave him at home. I feel sorry for their poor little guy, even though he drives me insane 😦

  4. Funny, once you used the word “Clampetts”, I completely understood your situation.
    Too bad there’s no People version of Animal Control.

  5. Pingback: In Our Home | THE RECOVERING BRIT

Leave a Reply

