Passing Through Vermont

On the way to and from Montréal for my Thanksgiving trip, I drove through Vermont. Believe it or not, although I’ve lived in New England since October 2005, I’ve only ever been to Vermont once before!

On the way there, I accidentally found the Vermont Vietnam Veterans War Memorial when I randomly stopped at a rest stop in the town of Sharon.

Then on my way home, I decided to make the most of the daylight hours and stop off at a couple of locations on my drive.

First stop was Burlington. I headed down to Lake Champlain to stretch my legs a bit. Being late November, it was much quieter than I imagine it is in the height of tourist season! Very nice too. Being someone who prefers to steer away from crowds these days, I was quite happy not to have to rub elbows with anyone.

The lake region was lovely too, with a nice grassy park area for walking or running. The US Coast Guard’s Station Burlington is located right on the lake too.

Looking out across the lake you get some beautiful views over the Adirondack Mountains.

And naturally I had to catch a lighthouse while I was there! The lake is home to numerous lighthouses, but right there next to the Coast Guard Station is Burlington’s Breakwater North Light.

I loved this statue in the park! “Amphibian”, a granite and black marble plaque, by sculpture GT Williams. It’s a tall sculpture with a hole carved out at the top, and this little frog sitting on a wedge.

Heading further south again, I stopped off in Montpelier – Vermont’s capital, and actually the smallest capital city in the US! Montpelier is more of a winter sports location, whereas Burlington seems more geared toward the spring and summer tourists. So it was much busier here in the town.

I’d been keen to catch their Capitol Building, the Vermont State House, and it certainly looked nice surrounded by snow. Such beautiful Greek Revival architecture, and I love the gold leaf dome – very vivid!

By this point in the day, I was longing for a coffee, so I headed off for a brew and then hit the road again, homeward-bound. But I’ll definitely be going back to Montpelier. As a winter-lover, the snowy scenes really appealed to me as I whipped through the town! Maybe I’ll get a chance to visit again before the spring so I can do some more in-depth sightseeing.

But it was a great chance to catch some sights in Vermont!

Leave a Reply

