Worcester’s Bancroft Tower

Today was a beautiful day in our little metropolis, so after the gym, and then a trip to see some friends this morning, it was time for coffee and a chilly, 23 degrees, winter walk. So I headed off to Bancroft Tower in nearby Worcester.

I’ve lived in this area since 2005, and believe it or not, never knew this place existed until late 2009 when I found a random mention of it online. It’s close to where I live, only about seven miles away, and I visited it for the first time in January 2010. Today I decided to check it out again since it was such a beautiful day for photographing stuff outside.

As you can imagine, there’s a bit of a story behind the tower – it was built in 1900 by Stephen Salisbury III in honor of his friend George Bancroft. Bancroft was born at the bottom of the hill where the tower is located, and during his life he held the posts of Secretary of the Navy and US Minister to GB and Germany. Additionally he was the Founder of the US Naval Academy.

Haven’t been up there for quite a while, and I’m glad I did today. A few other folk seemingly had the same idea – there were dog walkers out and about, as well as some folk who clearly just wanted to hang out and enjoy some peaceful time up there.

It’s amazing to see this place – it sits on top of a hill in a residential area in the town, and there are houses literally on either side of it. What a lovely building to have as a neighbor! I suppose it’s the closest thing to a castle that we have in our state.

And I have to admit that I have a real penchant for bright blue winter skies! You can’t beat them when it comes to photography. It really was a perfect winter day.

7 responses to “Worcester’s Bancroft Tower

  1. I was wondering if you had gone back to the UK. ๐Ÿ™‚ These are some wonderful images here. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m always surprised to see residential buildings in teh US over 100 years old.
    Your pics of this one are beautiful, and great that you could find out the history of it!

  3. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    Oh, I so much love seeing these photographic posts & words in between. The pics are always so clear, beautiful. I don’t even have a camera, but do have a handicam. Lovely post ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: Worcester in The Onion | Worcester

Leave a Reply

