Weekend Recap

Ah, the weekend never quite seems to last long enough these days……

I made the tiring drive to upstate New York to see Mark on Friday afternoon. I tend to do most of the traveling because, shockingly, the Army is less flexible than me. Having said that, however, I’d been spoiled a bit over the holiday when he drove here. It seems like it’s been a long time since I had to make the drive. I actually love driving – I swear I could be a driver for a living.  In-car satellite radio, a travel mug of coffee, and off I’d go……

But the problem with the weekend driving is that there’s always the “rush” to get there and back, so it’s never a relaxed drive. Friday’s journey was quite a nice one though, the weather was great for the drive, so that helped a lot. It certainly made a nice change from this time last year when my drives were all snow and ice.

Friday evening turned out relatively uneventful. By the time I arrived, there was time for pizza and beer, and watching some of our favorites on TV – “Gold Rush” being one of them. I’m addicted to watching anything based in Alaska – can’t get enough of the scenery.

Saturday was also relatively quiet. Some more laundry in the morning. I think I counted up that we’d done about 8 washes since Friday evening. To say Mark needs a wife is a gross understatement.

Later on we decided to get out of the house for a wee while. The weather wasn’t great, but it made a concerted effort to shine a bit of sun on us by the afternoon. So we headed out to the mall, meandered a bit, ended up “accidentally” in Best Buy (maybe all guys are addicted to this shop?), and then did a coffee run.

Back home it was time for the Master Chef to emerge. Mark had decided to cook for me in honor of my birthday, so it was nice to just sit back and have dinner prepared for me for a change! And very tasty it was too. I swear everything tastes so much better when someone else makes it for you.

Sunday morning Mark headed off to the airport around 9am – he’s away in Virginia for a training course this week. He drives me nuts. Despite being someone who’s “mostly” (I think he just about gets by) organized at work, he takes that uniform off and I’m convinced he reverts to 6 year old boy mode. I’ve never met anyone so forgetful and disorganized in my life. We’re complete opposites when it comes to the general planning involved in everyday life.

Bizarrely he made some random comment to me on Saturday evening about how he hoped I wouldn’t forget to lock the door when I left the house on Sunday. I counted to three, bit my tongue, and resisted the urge to simply choke him. I had no idea where that came from.

It seemed even more bizarre next morning. He was standing at the door with his case, and I asked if he had his paperwork, wallet, phone and charger. “Yes”, he answered, as he was on his way out.

Half an hour after he’d left, I heard the unmistakeable peep of his cellphone…….still in the living room. I spoke to the guy who was the “incoming text”, just so he’d know Mark had forgotten his phone. I pondered on driving to the airport with the phone – it was an hour and a half drive away. I’d have to leave immediately, and would be faced with my additional 6 hours drive home to Massachusetts afterwards. Plus there were no guarantees that I’d find Mark when I arrived.

After about a 10 minute debate with myself, I decided he’d just have to do without for the few days he’s away. It might teach him a lesson anyway!

Although somehow I doubt it…..

So instead I hit the gym, and then gathered up my belongings for the drive back to MA. (Yes, I did lock the door!)

Another decent drive though, with good weather conditions for the trip home.

And naturally the obligatory coffee stops to keep me going!

I arrived home around 6pm, but somehow didn’t make it to bed until about 11pm. I’ve no idea where the time goes……

 

9 responses to “Weekend Recap

  1. Sorry for the frustrations, but it sounds like it was a good weekend overall.
    Much better than mine, which was spent muttering to myself in various forms and occasions, “don’t kill them. don;t kill them…don’tdon’tdon’t”
    And hey, there’s another 3 day weekend coming for MLK day…

  2. Yay for the coffee. 🙂 I have a long drive coming up this week, and thankfully there is caffeine. 🙂

  3. I like a good road trip too, though I don’t do them so often… I enjoy the chance to get away, turn up the music and see a bit of new scenery. Especially nice for you given you have someone special waiting at the other end.

Leave a Reply

