Making an Appearance

I don’t know where the time goes these days. It’s been a couple of weeks since I posted – due to a combination of spending all my free time either engrossed in some of my freelance projects, or driving to upstate NY.

But I thought I’d better post something soon, otherwise I might just disappear into oblivion! The longer I go without posting, the less inclined I am to post again.

Things are moving on with my freelance business, I’ve been making some decent strides there – finally moved my business blog to a self-hosted site this week, and also have been doing a lot of marketing. Literally trying to send out 5-10 enquiries about potential work projects each day. Last week all my free time was spent finishing off a writing project.

This week’s good news is that I did find a new client who needs me to report on a medical conference for them at the end of April. So that’ll be fun, although a busy few days. The marketing in general is tedious, but necessary, obviously. Numerous sources seem to state similar marketing statistics (regardless of your niche) – realistically, for every 100 enquiries you make, you might get about 10 or so responses, and one or two of them will likely lead to some work. Such a lot of effort to put in for seemingly so little return, but in the grand scheme of things, every “one” will lead to either “another”, or at least repeat business. And obviously I’m talking about “real” work here – I receive no end of invitations to write for people – for peanuts! I’m not even going there though.

Other than work, I’ve just been battling the highways between MA and upstate NY. I’m a winter lover, so I’ve missed the snow this year while we’ve been having a strangely mild season. But I have to admit, it does make my long commutes a lot easier – both to work and to see Mark.

The past couple of weekends haven’t been too exciting really. The weekend before last, we went to see “The Grey” (with Liam Neeson) at the cinema. I quite enjoyed it, I really love his acting. It wasn’t one of the best movies he’s been involved in though.

Last weekend someone needed a new passport, so we went off in search of passport photos. (I’m sure he’ll kill me for posting this! Don’t even think he knew I was taking it.)

And someone also made me cupcakes 🙂

We headed out on Sunday for a late breakfast to a little diner, “Shorty’s”, that we’ve been promising to visit for the past year that Mark’s been in Watertown (can’t believe it’s been a year now since he moved there). It turned out to be much more quaint inside than I’d imagined – each table had an old mini-jukebox! Very sweet. The food was great, and even more bizarrely, the coffee was actually decent too! Usually I enjoy the food at these little diners, but the coffee tends to be dreadful. But even as we walked in, I could smell the coffee, and it was good enough to encourage me to try some!

This weekend I’m home alone – Sunday I’m hosting a roundtable discussion at our local chapter meeting of the American Medical Writers Association, so that’ll keep me occupied for a few hours. I think I’ll try and organize some more of my Yosemite pics too – still haven’t finished playing with those…..so behind……oh and those taxes need attending to as well!

I can already feel my weekend evaporating…..

8 responses to “Making an Appearance

  1. You and me both seem to be struggling to find time to write our wee blogs Nicky! Glad to hear that you’re finding the kind of work you want to do though – I’m so ignorant when it comes to setting up marketing strategies etc, I wouldn’t know where to start! Love the mini-jukebox – so cute! I’ll look forward to seeing more of your fantastic photos, and good luck with your tax. Yup, only two things in life are certain…. 🙂

    • Oh yes, Jane, at the moment I’ve been so busy with my business stuff, it’s been tough finding time to even sit and write here! Hoping to get some time tonight to just check in over at your place though 🙂 Looking forward to catching up – hope you are well xxx

  2. I know! The longer I go without posting/doing the blog thing, the easier it is not to do it. 🙂

    Congrats on your business growing.That’s wonderful. Good luck with everything! 🙂

  3. I like the sneaky passport picture 🙂

  4. Congratulations on the freelancing taking off, and still having some play time!

Leave a Reply

