Sunshine & Fireworks

Well I hope you all had a restful and fun July 4th holiday. It felt weird having a random day off in the middle of the week, but naturally I wasn’t complaining! Things got off to a dreary start here though – the weather’s been lovely in our area, until yesterday of course. Torrential rain was on the menu all morning, I thought it would never stop – I think it constituted the wettest July 4th I’ve ever experienced in all my years here. At least it gave me a chance to catch up on some chores in the morning after the gym.

But miraculously it decided to stop early afternoon, and then it was intermittently sunny. So it was off to the park with a book for some fresh air. I haven’t been doing too much reading for fun these days, so it was really nice to be able to just spend some time buried in a book, and I actually managed to finish it. Hopefully it won’t be to long before I get to start another one.

I braved our local fireworks display too. Good Lord, I have never seen so many cars and people in the town in all the years I’ve lived here. It was mayhem. I drove around for over half an hour trying to park, to no avail. Then as I was trying to regroup, turn around, and head home, I drove along a street that led to an apartment complex, & lo and behold caught some great views of the fireworks by accident. I managed to park along the side of the road in the complex & set up my tripod, so I was very happy that my trip wasn’t wasted.

Then came the hard bit.

Trying to get home in the traffic!

6 responses to “Sunshine & Fireworks

  1. A lot of towns cancelled their display a/c budgets. Nice to see yours still went off well.

    Happy 5th!

  2. Glad you had fun fireworks, and time in the park with a good book.
    Every day should go like that!

  3. Wow – great shots. I do love a good display of fireworks! Happy (belated) 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

