The Week in Review

Last week was mostly uneventful, no real fun to report, unfortunately.

It started off on a tiresome note – Monday was all about me being Middle Management, dealing with problems at work that everyone decided to send my way (even when I was sitting in my dentist’s chair in the evening, I was being buzzed with messages!), as well as members of staff who decided not to fulfil their job responsibilities, for reasons unknown to me. So I can’t say I enjoyed Monday too much, but I was pleased that this didn’t become a theme for the remainder of the week – things quietened down on those fronts after that!

My living situation continues to plague me.  I had problems with my downstairs neighbors ever since they moved in last October. After many months of complaining, as well as complaints about their kid from other kids’ parents (apparently he liked to terrorize smaller children), they were eventually evicted at the end of May, after a court appearance.

The following day, I re-signed a 6 month lease. I had 4 lovely, peaceful days. Then my newest neighbors moved in. In some ways they’re worse than the crew before them. At least the previous folk were “only” hell during daylight hours. These guys are a nightmare overnight – so far they’ve woken me 15 times (yes, I keep a log!), between the hours of midnight and 3:15am. It’s either really loud talking when they go to bed, overnight partying, arguing, or bedroom fun.

So far I haven’t put in an official complaint – to be honest, I don’t know what good it will do – they know they’re loud and lacking courtesy. If they don’t, they must be stupid, and if they do, they clearly don’t care. So I have lost the will to complain.

But I have decided I’ll be leaving at the end of my current 6 months, which will be the end of January. I think it’s the only way for me to get some peace. I’m tiring of the whole apartment complex really – it’s horribly noisy these days. Folk running up and down stairwells in my building, screaming…..and in the nice weather months, dozens of kids are typically running around until about 10pm each night outside in the grassy area below my window, yelling and screaming. So I’m officially done. It’s time for me to stop procrastinating and look for somewhere to buy.

Other than that, it’s been life as usual. The weekend was uneventful for the most part – it was overcast here in the lovely north east corner of the country, so I took the opportunity to catch up on some work projects. I spent a large amount of time at Starbucks to accomplish this, and managed to get in a bit of fun reading too.

I made some muffins….a highly exciting Sunday morning! Just cornbread muffins, but they’re sweet enough to give me a sugar fix when I need one. I’m going to have to dig out a high fiber/lower sugar recipe, I think, and see what I can come up with. I don’t like to tax my pancreas too much – I’m hoping it’ll thank me in my later years!

Tiddles, meanwhile, watched me cautiously from a place where she’s not allowed. Not that she cares about the rules….obviously.

And here we are again, the start of another week….but at least the first couple of days have gone relatively smoothly for me so far. No complaints there!

6 responses to “The Week in Review

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been landed with another bunch of troublesome neighbours. You really do have to be able to relax and unwind in your home, and you’re clearly not getting the opportunity to that Nicky! Think someone’s definitely trying to tell you it’s time to move on!
    Mmmmm muffins and Starbucks all in the one post – yummy! 🙂

    • I know, it’s been a real pain. I only have 6 more months left here, hehe! Could be a long 6 months, but I’ll just keep my eyes open for places to move to in the meantime! I agree with you – I think it definitely is a sign.

  2. That is a lot of muffins. Do you eat one a day, share with friends/ coworkers? If my son was home, he’d get through them.

    Be careful where you buy. Check out zoning to be sure you don’t get a noisy problem you can’t so easily move away from!

    • Oh I mostly eat one or two a day, they’re tiny little ones. I can empathize with your son – I can tuck right into them all if I give myself the chance! And I know what you mean about the zoning – I’ll definitely have to do some research to make sure I don’t walk from the frying pan to the fire!

  3. glad the week was mostly uneventful, after a few very busy ones.
    Pity about the neighbors, but at least now you have the full six months to relocate.
    And, of course, MUFFINS!!!

    Hope this was a fun week, Nicky!

  4. Heck, it’s going to be a long 6 months! But yes, it gives me a countdown…..I’m still plowing through the muffins…..maybe make a fresh batch tomorrow anyway!

Leave a Reply

